22 Beauty Hacks On A Budget (Part Deux)

Last week I shared my first installment on ways to maximize products you already have in your home to help keep your beauty regime up-to-date. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love splurging on a great facial scrub, or a new shade of lipstick, but the prices on some of these items can be a bit impractical, especially when you’re working within a budget.

So this week, I wanted to extend my list of  ways to still feel good not only about yourself, but the hefty weight of your wallet.

And yes, boys…some of these hacks can benefit you, too!

Let’s start with that broken compact!

This is the worst…and I do this all. the. time. You’re in the middle of putting on your bronzer, blush, or even a great eye shadow and with one slip of the hand the compact falls and the make-up crumbles into a million pieces. Naturally, my first thought was to always throw it away, to avoid the product to spill out, leaving chunks of makeup all over my counter and floor. However, I found an easy way to restore the use of that compact, instead of tossing it…

Pour a small amount of alcohol into the compact (you can use a spoon, spray bottle, or just pour a few droplets), then use your finger or small makeup brush to smooth it out, let the product sit for a few moments to let it settle and dry. Voila! It’s like brand new!

Wash and Save your Wands:

According to my students, having your eyebrows “on fleek” is quite the trend right now…and by restoring the use of old mascara wands, you can avoid spending money on buying a decent brow brush, with this simple trick:

Instead of tossing out your mascara wands, re-purpose them! Once they are washed,they can be used as an eyebrow brush. You can use them to add a bit of color to your brows with just a stroke or two, or if you spray them with a touch of hairspray, your brows can be tamed and polished.

Make the smell of your favorite perfume/cologne last all day long:

You absolutely love your perfume (or for you gents, your cologne), but it infuriates you that no matter how much you put on, it still fades away as your day gets going. So why not try this tip?

Before you apply your scent, dab a bit of Vaseline over the area first. This will help create a barrier between your skin and the oil.

Unsure whether or not you are even applying your perfume in the right places? Take a look at the chart below for tips:

FullSizeRender (6)

Image: Harper’s Bazaar, July 2015 Issue

Effortless and time-saving way to curl that mane:

If you’re like me and have not only long hair, but long and thick hair, you may find that doing just about anything to style your tresses is not only a hassle, but it is completely time consuming.  Granted, I love having my long locks, but when you’re a mom-time and energy is just never on your side…so here’s a fun hack I learned a few years back to curl your your hair in record-breaking time.

Put your hair up in a high ponytail…and when I mean high, I mean unicorn high (and avoid trying to tie it back too tight, because you don’t want any issues when taking the hair band out).

  • Split your ponytail into sections (the thicker the hair, the more sections).
  • Now curl each section of your hair as you normally would.
  • Take out your ponytail and brush through your curls with your fingers, and then style your curls as usual!

Clarifying Shampoo:

Want to remove all of that build-up from the products you use, but don’t want to spend the money on a decent shampoo to help remove the residue?

Just add a teaspoon or so to your shampoo before washing. It will leave your hair not only with a fresh, clean feeling, but with more body as well!

*Works best on lighter hair, because it acts as a natural highlighter, so dyed dark hair-proceed with caution!

DIY Dry Shampoo:

I grew up being told to wash my hair every. single. day. Then as I got older and became curious about hair maintenance, a few hairdressers told me to STOP washing my locks on a daily basis. After I panicked I said, “Well, won’t it get dirty? Smelly? Oily?” Their answer was always, “No.” This was because I had “normal” hair, meaning it was not oily to begin with, so my scalp needed time to let my hair get its oils back, and in fact, by washing it every day I was actually stripping it of its natural oils…

So needless to say, I now go 2-4 days without washing. Certainly if I am having a sweat-fest at the gym, I’m going to wash it to avoid smelly, sweaty hair, but for the most part, I learned to use dry shampoo as my alternative in-between washes. 

However, if you rely on dry shampoo, you know that this product can also become pricey. Here’s a quick and easy way to make some on your own…

Blonde Version:

  • Pour a 1/2 cup of oatmeal into a blender for a few seconds to get a powdery consistency
  • Pour oatmeal into a small mixing bowl with 1 Tbsp of cornstarch and stir the ingredients together
  • Pour the ingredients into a small shaker, and apply to your hair.

Brunette Version:

  • Substitute the oatmeal for 1/2 cup of cocoa powder and toss into a bowl
  • Blend well with 1 Tbsp of cornstarch
  • Pour ingredients into a small shaker, and apply to your hair

DIY Hair Mask:

I always love a great hair mask. This isn’t something that I do on a daily basis-nor should you. But every so often, especially during those cold winter months when my hair feels brittle, or in the midst of summer as my hair is not only fried by the sun, but by chlorine, I love coating my hair in a deep conditioner treatment that will help protect, revitalize and give some bounce, shine, and some silky smoothness back to it. So instead of purchasing this product at the store, here’s another way to make your own by sifting through your kitchen cabinets:

  • Whip 2 eggs with 2 Tbsp of olive or coconut oil
  • Leave in your hair for 20 minutes (I usually wrap mine up in a towel to  keep it out of my face)
  • Wash out as you would regularly wash your hair

DIY Facial Scrub:

Not only is it beneficial for your skin to use organic, pure products on your face, but it’s so fun to make in the process! Every few months I try to create a facial scrub that parallels the season we are in. In the summer, I opt for citrus blends, fall and winter I prefer brown sugar, vanilla, or peppermint…but since spring is upon us, here is a quick DIY scrub to rejuvenate the dull, dryness we have been exposed to all winter long:

Lemongrass + Ginger Energizing Sugar Scrub-Perfect for stimulating your circulation, as well as improving joint and tendon function, so this scrub can also be used across your entire body…

In a small jar (preferably mason), mix…

  • 1 cup of granulated white sugar
  • 3/4 cup of sweet almond oil (which can be substituted for olive or coconut oil)
  • 3 drops lemongrass oil
  • 1 drop of ginger essential oil
  • 1/4 tsp of tumeric (optional for a colorful scrub)

That just about covers it! I hope you once again were able to find some fun ways to prep yourself for the warmer months to come our way!

Feel free to tag me on Instagram: @daniellepiel, or on Facebook: Danielle Piel, with your favorite beauty hacks. I would love to hear about them as well! And as always, feel free to leave a comment below!

X, Danielle

 

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. […] Unsure whether or not you are even applying your perfume in the right places? Take a look at the chart on my site to see more […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

