What I Wore (Week #18)

Hello, Everyone! I hope your week was full of rest and relaxation, and if you’re a teacher who just enjoyed a much needed winter break (such as myself), then you can clearly relate. Aside from the extensive time off from reality, if you’ve been following along on Instagram, you’ve probably noticed my current “Outfit of the Day” posts have had a specific daily theme. For the past month, I have been joining other fashion lovers for daily style prompts that actually motivate you to not only be more creative with your style, but more so, to “challenge” yourself by incorporating as many of these daily “musts” to really expand the endless possibilities you have hanging in your closet, or tucked away in your drawers. So for this week’s compilation of “What I Wore” you’re going to witness some of these looks, and for a fun twist, I even incorporated my little budding fashionista in some of the pics.

And as always, each look (or similar) are linked for your convenience!

Look #1: For this challenge, it was all about pink and grey, with some gold to celebrate the spirit of “Valentine’s Day.” I managed to make this look work by mixing it with one of my favorite combinations: a graphic tee combined with a blazer and skirt for a casual, yet sophisticated lookIMG_8072

J.Crew Factory “Kiss” tee, purchased a few seasons back on sale for around $16…this print is no longer for sale, but their current collection, currently on sale for $27.50-29.50 is linked)

Gap Factory Linen, Charcoal Grey, Jersey Moto Jacket for around $30 last spring (shop similar style here)

The Limited tweed blush pink mini skirt purchased on clearance for $6 a few years back (their skirt selection is linked)

Women’s Jennifer Pumps in Tan, purchased a few weeks back, on clearance for $15 from Target (usually retails for $29.99, on sale for $25)

Look #2: Comfy and cozy with a monochromatic pallet, doing it in my favorite way: mixing patterns that incorporate the same black, white and grey scheme

IMG_8603

Black and White striped long-sleeved crewneck from Target-purchased on clearance for only $8 (the link only shows the current price of $12, so visit your closest store to receive the clearance discount)!

GAP Factory “marled open-front Cardigan” purchased Columbus Day Weekend for $29.99, but usually retails for $59.99-I absolutely love how soft and versatile this cardigan is…I’ve been pretty much living in it on weekends,and even throwing it on to run out for errands, or to the gym! (I could not longer find this exact style on their website, so I linked their women’s sweater collection for similar styles)

Ivory, Chunk Knit Tube Scarf from H&M last year for $12.99 (similar styles linked)

Black leggings purchased from the brand Alyx through J.C. Penney a few years back for $15 on sale (linked similar pair currently on clearance for $19.99)

Women’s White Chuck Taylor’s by Converse-retails between $49.99-55.00 at Kohl’s, purchased on sale with a coupon for $30, last spring

Look #3: This look called for Pink and blue, bows, red, and plenty of sparkle golden sparkle and shine…naturally I went straight for the denim jacket which is a staple in my closet, because it’s one of those neutrals that go with just about an-y-thing!

IMG_8210

Basic pale pink tank top from GAP Factory, purchased on sale for around $6 last spring (similar styles linked from GAP Factory, currently on sale for $5.99)

Jean Jacket from GAP Factory (Spring ’14, shop similar style here-I paid $25.99-so sign up with them to receive your coupons automatically, too!) Currently not in stock, but you can easily purchase them at Target for the same price

Grey, Wool, Pleated Mini Skit (with cinched waist and pockets…): J. Crew, but purchased from Poshmark for $27 pre-loved, but in perfect condition (usually retails for around $80)

Hot pink with orange bow, Rubber rain slip-ons by J. Crew, purchased on the Poshmark app a few years back for around $10

Look #4: This was another look I had to post, not only because it involved the correct “color” scheme the challenge called for, but this maxi skirt is by far one of the most eclectic pieces I now own. 70’s fashion has always been one of my favorites,so when I eye-balled this on clearance from Banana Republic the day after Christmas, without hesitation, I grabbed this silky garment from the rack and couldn’t wait to get it home to style it. Believe me when I say the picture does not do this piece any justice!

IMG_8141

Navy blue fitted turtleneck with gold buttoned sleeves purchased from H&M‘s post-holiday sale for $24.99-I could not find it on their site, but not everything in stores always ends up on their store site, so I linked their turtleneck collection.

Silk maxi skirt retails for $148, purchased on sale after Christmas for $36 from Banana Republic (no longer available on their site, so I linked their skirt line)

Look #5: This look was all about olive green and fur…so I grabbed one of the softest scarves I own, my green army jacket, a striped shirt dress, some leggings and brown boots to show that you can mix brown and black (and fur…and stripes…)

FullSizeRender (6)

Black and White Striped Crew Neck Shirt (length is that of a shirt dress), purchased on Veterans Day at Old Navy for $6 (retails for $16.90- currently on sale between $12-14, depending on color, but I could not find the stripes online).This was a steal, because I scoped out the Clearance racks after seeing this exact shirt in the store, and thought there was a mistake on the tag. When I brought it to the register, the employee said it was marked as “clearance,” because it was purchased online and in an “authentic” size, unlike the others they have in regular stock-no other damage.  So I was sold!

Army Green Blazer from Ann Taylor Loft last fall (I felt as though I basically stole this from their store. It was originally priced around $100, but I was able to walk away with it on clearance for around $25! Clearly, one of my best purchases ever!) I linked their jackets and coats since this one is no longer available

J. Crew Factory “Everyday” leggings purchased fall 2014 on sale for around $10…currently on sale for $17 (retails for $34.50)

 I purchased this faux fur scarf last weekend from Old Navy’s holiday sale-currently retails for $24.90, but purchased it for $8 after a 60% drop. I could not find this scarf anywhere on their site, so if you’re interested in it, I recommend stopping by one of your local store’s women’s dept…if not and you’re willing to splurge from $17-25, Target is currently selling these in an array of colors (also linked)

Tan riding boots from Marshall’s for $50 last winter

Look #6: Take a wild guess…certainly this look screamed a vibrant shade of red, but we had to incorporate a little “rose” gold and leopard as well. Again, just as I said earlier about the jean jacket, leopard is a great neutral as well…where I opted for solid colors, my little “minnie” combined hers with some black and white stripes.

IMG_8030

Button-down collared loose fitting blouse-Express last spring on sale for 29.99 (shop similar styles here)

Leopard Print Cardigan by Express, but purchased from the Poshmark app for around $10

Jean Jacket from GAP Factory (Spring ’14, shop similar style here-I paid $25.99-so sign up with them to receive your coupons automatically, too!) Currently not in stock, but you can easily purchase them at Target for the same price

Red wool J. Crew skirt purchased pre-loved on the Poshmark app last year for $15.00

Women’s White Chuck Taylor’s by Converse-retails between $49.99-55.00 at Kohl’s, purchased on sale with a coupon for $30, last spring

Look #7: I absolutely loved doing my best to master this challenge: plaid, stripes, and chocolate brown, not only because I was able to pattern mix, but it gave me an excuse to pull out one of my favorite purchases on a steal…vintage duck booties that I scored for $4 at a local thrift store!

duck boots

Black and White Striped Cotton Turtleneck purchased on sale at Forever 21 for around $5

Blue plaid blazer purchased on clearance from Target for $7 a few weeks back (retails for 34.99 and the link shows that it is currently on sale for $24.48, so double check your local Target stores first)

The Limited skinny, dark denim jeans that I purchased the day after Christmas on sale for $28!!! Linked for your convenience, is their entire denim selection to help choose your style fit and wash

Vintage duck booties by the brand Quechee purchased a few weeks back at my local Salvation Army for $4

I hope you were able to find some daily motivation to help transform your wardrobe this week! Tag me on Instagram: @daniellepiel, Facebook: Danielle Piel, or leave a comment below, sharing some of your inspiring looks!

X, Danielle

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

