What I Wore (Week #17)

Hello, everyone! You do not know how grateful it felt to finally get through this agonizingly long and exhausting week! The only way I can describe it, is to compare it to that Bill Murray movie, Groundhog Day, because it was as though every day was a Monday-consistently on repeat! The highlight of it, however, was that I ended up going to a phenomenal Yoga workshop with a world-renowned Yoga instructor…I was so inspired by the event, that I decided to create a post on it, which will be out later this week.

Anyway, the week’s over and I managed to make it through with the help of some fun, little ensembles…and here they are!

And as always, all pieces (or similar), are linked for your purchasing convenience!

Look #1: Starting off the week with a little camo-the best part about this print is the fact that it acts like a neutral, so don’t feel as though your only other options to dress this up should be black-have fun!  I’m usually in favor of prints or stripes

FullSizeRender (4)

Black and White Striped Cotton Turtleneck purchased on sale at Forever 21 for around $5

Grey, Cable-Knit, Wool Turtleneck sweater, purchased from GAP a few years back on sale for $25, and retailed for around $65 (Similar style linked fro L.L. Bean, most durable for a reasonable price-currently $45 on sale)

Camouflage jeggings purchased last year, from Target for $27.99-no longer retailed, but I linked their leggings instead.

Thick, Brown Leather Belt (Purchased on sale at the GAP for $10 over 10 years ago…see why staples are important??!)

Women’s Jennifer Pumps in Tan, purchased a few weeks back, on clearance for $15 from Target (usually retails for $29.99)

Look #2: I’ve had this 90’s fashion obsession since watching the VH1 show Hindsight that aired late last winter (and unfortunately, as I just found out, was cancelled after its first season)…so little by little, I have been incorporating a little of that decade’s “flare” back into my wardrobe…and I never thought I’d say this, but I miss it!

FullSizeRender (5)

Slouchy, Weathered, White V-Neck Tee from Gap Factory a few years back for around $10 (shop similar look here)

Gap Factory Linen, Charcoal Grey, Jersey Moto Jacket for around $30 last spring (shop similar style here)

1969 Resolution Vintage Destructed Flares: Purchased on sale for $24.99, but with the after-Christmas sale, all sale items were half off, so I paid around $13 for these!! (Helpful hint: depending on the “wash” of the denim, prices may fluctuate)

Woven, tribal patterned blanket scarf was a recent purchase at H&M, could not find the same one online, so I linked all of there scarves. This one was purchased for $24.99

Women’s Jennifer Pumps in Tan, purchased a few weeks back, on clearance for $15 from Target (usually retails for $29.99)

Look #3: It’s been extremely chilly, and by chilly I mean frigid-not only outside, but in my classroom, so I’ve been pretty selective when it comes to wearing one of my favorite pieces of all time: skirts. With this look, I incorporated a gingham pattern to layer under my new wool sweater, to keep me extra warm, minus the “frumpiness!” FYI: I apologize in advance for the incredibly cheesy smile (yikes!)

FullSizeRender (6)

Navy and White Gingham Shirt-J. Crew Factory last fall on sale for $32-similar style linked and still on sale for the same price!

H&M Jacquared-knit sweater purchased for $10 the day after Christmas, retails for $34.99 (the sweater is linked but shows that it’s on sale for $14.99)

Red wool J. Crew skirt purchased pre-loved on Poshmark last year for $15.00

Ivory Wool Leg Warmers by Abercrombie & Fitch: purchased, from the app Poshmark (pre-loved)for $10 a few years back

Black, Glossy Hunter Rain boots-Purchased from Poshmark in new condition for $90-Retail price is usually around $150

Look #4: Want to look casual, but not as though you just threw something on without giving your look much thought? Try adding a button-down blouse, with a soft knit, and patterned heels. That way your jeans can actually look like they’ve been dressed up, when in all actuality, your plan is to feel dressed down.

FullSizeRender (7)

Button-down collared loose fitting blouse-Express last spring on sale for 29.99 (shop similar styles here)

Navy, Wool Crew-Neck Sweater purchased on sale for $40 from Ann Taylor Loft, last year (similar styles linked)

Gap Outlet Boyfriend Jeans for around $30 on sale (shop similar style here)

Thick, Brown Leather Belt (Purchased on sale at the GAP for $10 over 10 years ago)

Plaid Scarf from Target last winter for around $19.99 (Shop similar styles here)

Women’s Lainee Pumps in “Leopard”-purchased from Target this week for $29.99

Look #5: As I said on my Instagram post: the last time I was photographed in overalls, it was 1994 and it was for my 8th grade yearbook photo…I never in a million years, thought I’d be purchasing a pair of these again-but as cliche as it sounds…history does repeat itself. Besides, how cute will these look in a tee and flip-flops this spring?? Gotta have fun, right?

Image-1.png

Grey and White Signature tee by the Lou and Grey line for Ann Taylor Loft, purchased last year on sale for $25…no longer for sale, so I linked their signature tee’s with the same look-retail for $29.50, but are currently 40% off

GAP Factory “marled open-front Cardigan” purchased Columbus Day Weekend for just about the same price it is currently on sale for ($29.99), but usually retails for $59.99-I absolutely love how soft and versatile this cardigan is…I’ve been pretty much living in it on weekends,and even throwing it on to run out for errands, or to the gym!

Women’s denim overalls in (distressed) black, originally $34.99, purchased on clearance last week for $17 at Target. The website does not reflect the price that they were purchased for in the store…so check out your local Target (they also come in denim too)

Women’s Jennifer Pumps in Tan, purchased a few weeks back, on clearance for $15 from Target (usually retails for $29.99)

I’m looking forward to a more energetic, and positive week, using what I’ve gained this weekend from my workshop in order to move forward and embrace what comes next. I have a few projects up my sleeve that I am also making preparations for, so it does give me something to look forward to and focus on.

Hopefully everyone is enjoying the remaining two nights of our extended weekend, because we all need it!  Don’t forget to follow along on Instagram: @daniellepiel, Facebook: danielle piel, Pinterest: daniellepiel. Or leave an email: daniellepiel22@gmail.com, with any questions, or comment below!

 

X, Danielle

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

