What I Wore (Week 5)

Happy Tuesday to you all! Many of us had the luxury of not only having yesterday off due to Columbus Day, but if you live anywhere near the upstate, NY region, you truly appreciated the sunny and 75 degree weather that we were blessed with. This was most certainly the highlight of my day considering at this point in the year, us New Yorkers are on borrowed time with Mother Nature….which leads me into my outfits this past week. Clearly, the temperature has been nothing but hormonal, going from jackets one day, to sleeveless the next-but believe me, it was still fun mixing and matching summer and fall pieces to keep my wardrobe fresh!  My favorite part about this week were the sales that we had with the extended holiday weekend (and if you haven’t taken a look, go visit my last post on “Columbus Day Sales”). Some sales are still going on, and often times, some stores will extend the sale into the week, due to the traffic they receive.

Usually I share about 5 “Outfit of the Day” looks, but we had a busy weekend in my household, so I threw in some additional ones from the long weekend break!

And as always, all looks, or those similar, are linked for your convenience!

Look #1:

I may wear these army green skinny jeans out of style, but I’m okay with that, because they go with ev-er-y-thing!! For this look, I mixed my gingham navy and white button-down shirt, jean jacket, chunky brown, leather belt and tan pumps for a casual, yet professional look to help jump-start my week!

FullSizeRender (97)

Navy and White Gingham Shirt-J. Crew Factory last fall on sale for $32-similar style linked and still on sale for the same price!

Jean Jacket from GAP Factory (Spring ’14, shop similar style here-I paid $25.99-so sign up with them to receive your coupons automatically, too!)

Hunter Green Denim Cargo Skinny Jeans from Gap Factory last spring (shop similar style here)

Thick, Brown Leather Belt (Purchased on sale at the GAP for $10 over 10 years ago…)

Tan pumps-an old purchase from Target 29.99-similar style linked

Look #2:

I found this dress stashed in the back of my closet so I had to take advantage of it! Don’t you just love when that happens? It feels like Christmas! This royal/cobalt blue dress is similar to the black one I own from J. Crew, but without the wool texture. I decided to add a little pop to my color scheme by including a leopard printed cardigan and a sparkly, gold rope belt, and tan ballet flats. I am often asked “how do I mix leopard print with my other clothes?” My answer is this: to me, leopard acts as a neutral and I absolutely love it with one bold color to compliment each other, or honestly, with plaid…you just need to know how to play it right.  For some pointers on how to mix patterns, see my post on “White Wardrobe in Cooler Weather.”

FullSizeRender (95)

Cobalt Blue Pleated Shift Dress from J Crew Factory: Purchased on sale for around $40. Similar one linked is also currently on sale (but in wool)

Leopard Print Cardigan by Express, but purchased from the Poshmark App for around $10

Gold, Sparkle rope belt from Target last year for $12.99-Similar styles linked

Tan, Leather Ballet Flats: purchased late summer at Forever 21 for $17.90 (Linked a similar pair)

Look #3:

Now that I have been chronicling my wardrobe, I’ve had the opportunity to notice a common theme-I truly love black and white. So, I’ve been doing my best this week to mix it up-and although, once again, I’m wearing a skirt that is literally just that-I decided to smooth out the look with a fitted black tank and an embroidered 3/4 cobalt blue cardigan and some flip flops, because once again, the weather did just that-“flip-flopped.” Not to mention, I have been eyeballing this skirt (that actually has rubber in the material) for the past year, waiting for it to go on sale, and finally, just as I was about to give up, I noticed that hue of red poking out from the price tag, clearly calling out my name, and sure enough, it was on clearance for only $11-moral of the story: good things do come to those who wait…

FullSizeRender (94)

Basic Black Tank (I believe this was purchased last spring at H&M for around $6

Cobalt Blue Embroidered Cardigan by J. Crew-Purchased through the Poshmark App for $12

Black and White Rubber skirt purchased last week on clearance from Target for $11 (similar look linked-also check out “What I Wore Week #2” for the same skirt, but in black, purchased at H&M)

Lauren Conrad Black Flip-Flops from Kohl’s last spring on sale for around $10

Look #4:

This next look was by far, my favorite one of the week. I actually purchased this on a whim the night before, when I had to return a shirt to Forever 21. I stumbled across this grey, turtleneck sweater dress (with pockets!) in the softest material, and without any hesitation, ran to the dressing room, and reappeared as Forever 21’s happiest shopper that night. Going casual was what I was looking for, so with the help of some simple hair, a few accessories, and slip-on sneakers, this look became so effortless, and actually made my day-not to mention, any look that makes you feel good with little effort is certainly a win, win!
FullSizeRender (93)

Grey, soft knit, turtleneck Sweater Dress-Purchased this past week from Forever 21 for 24.90 (for some reason, I could not find the dress on their site, so I linked similar styles)

Shoes-GAP Factory (late Summer-shop similar styles here from GAP) $12.99 on clearance

Look #5:

It was a cool, rainy day, yet not cool enough for layering, so to brighten the dreary mood commonly associated with rain, I added a deep purple skirt, my chambray shirt, a few jewels, my favorite leg warmers, and my Hunter Boots to make it through the storm, and to easily end the work week.

FullSizeRender (92)

Chambray Shirt- J.Crew Factory (retails for $68.00, currently on sale-I paid less than $40, but regardless the price-it’s well worth it!)

Deep Purple J. Crew Pleated Mini Skirt purchased from Poshmark for around $10

Ivory Wool Leg Warmers: purchased, again, from the wonderful app Poshmark (pre-loved)for $10 a few years back

Black, Glossy Hunter Rain boots-Purchased from Poshmark in new condition for $90-Retail price is usually around $150

Look #6:

Just a casual weekend look to go enjoy some fall festivities with my family! I couldn’t wait to finally put my brand new excursion vest to use, especially since this was a steal Labor Day weekend at J. Crew Factory-so I mixed it with some stripes, my favorite “boyfriend” jeans, slip-on sneakers and my black handbag, and off to the farm we went!

FullSizeRender (91)

Black and White Striped Cotton Turtleneck purchased on sale this week at Forever 21 for around $5

J. Crew Factory Excursion Vest purchased Labor Day Weekend on sale for $36-Retails at $108…currently on sale for $75.50…not sure you want to pay that price? I saw similar ones for under $40 at both Target and Marshall’s

“Sexy” Boyfriend Cut Jeans-Gap Factory last spring on sale for $25.99 ( I have them in a lighter wash as well. Helpful hint* If you are looking for a slouchier, loose fitting boyfriend cut, then these are the perfect pair!)

Black Handbag purchased a few weeks back at H&M for $39.99

Shoes-GAP Factory (late Summer-shop similar styles here from GAP) $12.99 on clearance

Look #7:

For my last look, this was just me dressing up with no place to go…sounds pathetic, but a little secret-I’ve been doing it since I could dress myself, and besides, how else ’em I supposed to create outfits with some of the new pieces I picked up this weekend from the holiday sales??!! Sometimes a little goes a long way, and with just one accessory to give your look a little edge (in this case, the most comfortable heels I’ve ever owned), you can very easily “do” simple chic!

FullSizeRender (96)

Ivory, laced Tank Top was from Gap Factory (I was able to get this on sale for $12.99 at the end of summer) However, they are no longer in stock…I did link their tops, so similar cuts, designs and fabrics can be located

Black Jeggings purchased this weekend at Gap Factory for 20% off (plus an additional coupon I had from shopping Labor Day Weekend) Regularly retail for $59.99. I love the fit so much, I may never take them off!!!

Black, Leather Strappy Heels purchased last year from Kohl’s (Candies Brand). I was able to purchase them on sale, with an additional coupon for under $30. Luckily, I have linked this season’s spin on the heel, currently oh sale for $26.97

So there you have it! Another week of “What I Wore” to help add some inspiration to the looks you may be creating for yourself this week! Stay posted, because later on this week I am going to be sharing a handful of ways to wear my favorite accessory: scarves! I also have a project that I am working on in order to give back to my community, and I am looking forward to sharing with you all, in hopes that you too would like to join in! Don’t forget to tag me on Instagram: @daniellepiel, or on Facebook: Danielle Piel with some of the looks you’ve created this week, You can even email me: daniellepiel22@gmail.com, or leave a comment below!

X, Danielle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

