What I Wore (Week #4)

Hello, Everyone! I hope that you’re all enjoying a restful Sunday evening! Today, I am sharing more looks from this beautiful and colorful first week of October, which has given me some inspiration to start layering up…beginning with scarves and pattern mixing! Now that the cooler months are in the forefront, my focal point has been not only to layer up, but to mix and match patterns that add some complimentary detail to my wardrobe. Below are five looks to help show you how you can still tie in some of those late summer pieces, in the early days of fall.

As always, I have linked the items, so you too, can shop each look!

Look #1: 

The beginning of the week started out to be pretty mild, but I really, really, really wanted to break out the new knit scarf that I had purchased about a week back, so I found a way to recreate an early fall look, by mixing the plaid scarf (that I need more of in different colors!) with a khaki dress and some camel-colored wedges. I also added a cute fishtail and some gold jewels, to contribute to the preppy, yet earthy vibe I was going for.

   IMG_5841

Scarf: recent purchase from H&M-Priced regularly at $12.99

Khaki Dress: a seasonal purchase last spring from H&M for 19.99 (no longer available, but I linked the dress selection from H&M)

Camel-Colored Wedges: an old purchase from Kohl’s a few years ago for around $20 on sale (again, no longer available, but women’s sandals and wedges are linked)

Look #2:

Later on this week, I’m going to unravel the taboo of wearing white post-Labor Day, by showing you how to put a modern spin on this fresh trend. Until then, here’s a look on how I styled my white jeggings with a cozy, mauve-knit sweater, leopard patterned belt(yes, leopard and mauve…purchase something in leopard, ladies! Leopard gives a whole new spin on neutral!!), a pair of tan, leather ballet flats, and pounds of pearls and stones, to give my transitional summer into fall outfit, a soft and romantic touch.

IMG_5856

Slouchy Sweater: A late summer purchase from Gap Factory on sale for $16.99 (Although I could not find the exact sweater to link, online, I have recently seen this sweater in this color and a variety of others at Gap Fatory) However, similar sweater looks are linked

Women’s Mid Rise White Jeggings: purchased last spring from Target,but still available for $29.99

Leopard Print Belt: Target for $16.99

Tan, Leather Ballet Flats: purchased late summer at Forever 21 for $17.90 (Linked a similar pair)

Look #3:

I was very apprehensive this season about purchasing a jean skirt. As I’ve said in one of my most recent posts, I consider a jean jacket a closet staple, but when it comes to jean skirts…as long as you can find the perfect wash, with a flattering cut, you should be safe! And I am so glad that I made this purchase! If I could wear jeans (or sweats for that matter) to work on a daily basis, I would! What doesn’t go with denim? Not to mention it was reassuring with the amount of compliments I received on this piece. But since I cannot (or at least choose not to) wear jeans to work-all-the-time, I figure I can get away with this kind of denim, considering I’m substituting the pants for a skirt version. I love that this skirt is knee length, with a small slit on the backside to maneuver a little easier. The denim has a soft texture, and also has a little stretch, that way it doesn’t feel so stiff while moving around all day long. I decided to add a sweatshirt material tee, that included a flower design down each elbow-length sleeve, embroidered in lace, and to finish off the look, I  added a pair of slide-ons, and some basic jewels to keep the look simple, yet still with a touch of sophistication! The one accessory I did forget to put on before taking this shot was a long necklace to help draw some attention to the single-toned grey top.

FullSizeRender (86)

Grey, laced-sleeved sweatshirt: purchased from Ann Taylor Loft last fall on sale for $29.99 (no longer available, but I linked their impressive sweater collection)

Denim Pencil Skirt: purchased from Gap Factory, late summer on sale for around $25.00

Slip-Ons purchased late summer from Gap Factory on clearance for $12.99 (similar slips linked)

Look #4: 

I have always loved the look of army green-colored pants or blazers/jackets. The color is so versatile with every passing season, and you can match it up with just about anything, because it serves as a neutral color. For this jacket, I decided to go casual with a simple, flowy grey tank, boyfriend cut jeans, and slip-ons to end my very long week on a casual and comfy note (not to mention, this new tote made lugging around paperwork much easier)!

IMG_5873

Basic Grey, slouchy tank from Marshall’s for $6.99 last summer

Army Green Blazer from Ann Taylor Loft last fall (I felt as though I basically stole this from their store. It was originally priced around $100, but I was able to walk away with it on clearance for around $25! Clearly, one of my best purchases ever!) I linked their jackets and coats since this one is no longer available

“Sexy” Boyfriend Cut Jeans-Gap Factory last spring on sale for $25.99 ( I have them in a lighter wash as well. Helpful hint* If you are looking for a slouchier, loose fitting boyfriend cut, then these are the perfect pair!)

Slip-Ons purchased late summer from Gap Factory on clearance for $12.99 (similar slips linked)

Look #5:

And of course, I had to save the best for last (at least the “#OOTD” with the most “likes” on Instagram this week). This is my, “Rules? What rules?!” look. I always hear people say that you should never mix patterns, because your look becomes too busy and that it “just doesn’t match!” Well, I just want to set the record straight- yes, stripes and plaids can and MUST be mixed! Granted, I have seen a fair share of hideous attempts at combining the two, and yes, it can be tricky, but once you’ve learned how to combine these (once lethal) patterns, you can truly begin to start transforming and maximizing your wardrobe to the fullest capacity. I also recommend that every woman has at least one nautical/striped shirt in their closet, whether it be in navy or the black and white version…such a versatile piece to dress up and down, regardless the season, and not to mention….they’re usually very reasonably priced!

IMG_5850

Here’s a few rules on how to properly play with patterns  

Plaid Scarf from Target last winter for around $19.99 (Shop similar styles here)

Nautical Boat Neck Cotton Shirt: Banana Republic purchased last winter on clearance for $10 (similar styles linked and I’ve also seen them in Target in navy and black and white)

Grey, Wool, Pleated Mini Skit (with cinched waist and pockets…): J. Crew, but purchased from Poshmark for $27 pre-loved, but in perfect condition (usually retails for around $80)

Ivory Wool Leg Warmers: purchased, again, from the wonderful app Poshmark (pre-loved)for $10 a few years back

Brown Leather Boots: Purchased a few years back for around $85 at DSW (no longer available, but similar riding boots are linked)

Rule #1: Repeat Colors- 

When mixing prints, make sure to have a unified color. By repeating colors, you can help compliment them, instead of making them clash (in my case, I chose navy blue as my compliment)

Rule #2: Mix a Big Print with a Small Print-

Often times, mixing of patterns can become busy when you have two prints that are the same size. Choose one small print to compliment the larger print (with this look, I chose nautical stripes to go along with my plaid scarf-which I wanted as my focal point)

Rule #3: Use a solid to break up the patterns-

Clashing patterns can also occur if a solid color is not brought into the look to help even it out. The solid piece is really there to help keep the eye from tiring out after looking at the pattern mixing (hence the grey, wool skirt I wore to compliment each piece).

Rule #4: Pair the same print in two different colors-

 If you’re looking to be more conservative, or enjoy the “monochromatic” approach to styling, try two prints on similar scales, but in different colors (for example: polka dots, or stripes).

Rule #5: Still apprehensive about taking a walk on the wild side? Black & White is your safety zone-

All hail black and white. This is the ultimate color-combo that can easily be mixed and matched with stripes, polka dots, plaid, floral, you name it! Plus, it always looks fresh, modern, and completely slenderizes your look.

I hope everyone has a wonderful week full of fall foliage, cider donuts, and pumpkin spiced coffee! I am looking forward to sharing my mid-week post on ways to wear white during these cooler months! Don’t forget to tag me on Instagram: @daniellepiel, on Facebook: Danielle Piel, or email me at: daniellepiel22@gmail.com, or leave a comment below sharing some of your transitional summer to fall looks, or how you like to mix and match your patterns!

X, Danielle

2 comments

  1. Danielle W. says:

    I have that J. Crew skirt in black 🙂 Love how you paired it with the boots!

    Liked by 1 person

    • daniellepiel says:

      I love them with boots and flats/sandals…they are the cutest little skirts! I have them in a few colors, and I try to keep my eye out for more when I can get a good deal on them 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

