What I Wore (Week #3)

Hello, Everyone!  This was quite the week for “Outfit of the Day” looks. If you didn’t already know, I am a teacher by day, and this week was “Spirit Week” at my high school. So needless to say, my wardrobe consisted of the Student Body’s choice of “What to Wear” looks. Fortunately, I was all for it, because back (way back…) when I was in high school, Spirit Week was like experiencing the Prom five times in one week for this cheerleader!

Although it was fun playing dress up, not every outfit from my look book of the week made it to the final cut here on the blog-Instead, I opted to share some additional weekend wear for some inspiration, as well.

As always, all looks are linked, so you too can shop the look (or close to it!).

Day 1:

Okay, so it’s out of the ordinary when a blogger posts a “Pajama of the Day” look, but I do have to say-there were no complaints coming from me when I was told P.J’s were on the agenda for work on Tuesday! I tried my best to keep this comfy look as casually appropriate as I could, considering I had to wear this ensemble to educate America’s future (and yes, I sported these fuzzy slippers all day, too!).

IMG_5797

Light Pink Racerback tank, last spring from Gap Factory for around $6 dollars (shop similar look here)

Tank was actually part of a set (came with cute little boxers) from Forever 21, last summer-$12.90 (The print on it actually says, “I will be fine once the coffee kicks in” (oh, such is life…)

Light blue cardigan was an old purchase from Gap Factory a few year back for around $15 (shop similar look here)

Long-John sweats where a purchase earlier this week from T.J. Maxx for $12.99

Fuzzy Slippers were also a purchase this week from T.J. Maxx for $12.99

Day #2:

Twin Day! Of course, if you’re a female and you don’t live under a rock, the obvious choice is to go with the Little Black Dress (L.B.D.)…so naturally, myself and my twins (yes, make that two, not one) added a few pearls, a top knot, and of course some flip-flops, because it was still extremely warm in our building! Simple, yet classy-Audrey would be proud!

FullSizeRender (74)

Shop the Pleated Shift Dress Here: J. Crew Factory

Lauren Conrad Black Flip-Flops from Kohl’s last spring on sale for around $10

Day #3

It was “Class Color” Day at work…thank goodness the teachers were able to wear green, because if not for this, I’d be sporting yellow with the Freshman class (yikes!).

FullSizeRender (73)

Button-down collared loose fitting blouse-Express last spring on sale for 29.99 (shop similar styles here)

Hunter Green Denim Cargo Skinny Jeans from Gap Factory last spring (shop similar style here)

Thin, leather- strapped sandals from Gap, which I found on clearance for about $10.00

Day 4: 

It truly felt like fall this weekend, and thank goodness, because I have been itching to bundle up in a scarf and slip into some booties! Luckily I chose this comfy look to help my first client with a “Closet Consultation.” Yes! If anyone is interested in receiving some help/advice to revamp your style with pieces you already own, get in touch! I was able to “consult” someone who did not have the time, energy, nor money to spend on fall clothes, so we set up a time to meet up at her home, and so I went and took her closet hostage! We purged (donated) pieces that were no longer being worn and then recreated multiple outfits by mixing different pieces from all of her seasonal wear! It was a blast-and the best part was, I was able to play dress-up for a few hours!

Oh, and you’re probably wondering, “Why the socks under the booties?” Well, as I said in an earlier post…I get inspiration from anywhere-and this idea actually came from a Children’s fashion photo that I happened to catch a glimpse of as I was passing by a clothing store while out shopping one day. I figured, “why not?” It’s too warm for tights or leg warmers, yet, it’s uncomfortable to wear boots without anything on underneath…I thought it was fun and a breath of fresh air from the typical legging wear!

FullSizeRender (75)

Gap Navy Blue Shift Dress (from a few years back-found on clearance after Christmas for $12) Shop similar looks here

Camel Colored Booties from Forever 21 last fall for under $30 (Shop similar styles here)

(Socks-stolen from the hubby!)

Plaid Scarf from Target last winter for around $19.99 (Shop similar styles here)

Day 5:

Confession: Most adults my age enjoy t.v shows suitable for their maturity level, I on the other hand, believe that working with high schoolers has rubbed off on me. Thank you Netflix for fulfilling me with six seasons of Gossip Girl this summer, because without “Serena Van Der Woodsen” I’d have no inspiration to substitute a necklace for my husband’s tie…Now all I’m missing are those goldilocks and Ryan Reynolds clinging to my arm.

FullSizeRender (76)

Slouchy, Weathered, White V-Neck Tee from Gap Factory a few years back for around $10 (shop similar look here)

Gap Factory Linen, Charcoal Grey, Jersey Moto Jacket for around $30 last spring (shop similar style here)

Gap Outlet Boyfriend Jeans for around $30 on sale (shop similar style here)

Shoes-GAP Factory (late Summer-shop similar styles here from GAP) $12.99 on clearance

And there you have it! Another week of “What I Wore.” I hope you enjoyed it!! I also wanted to remind everyone that tomorrow I will be featuring my first official blog on Brian Huba’s The Cat’s Pajamas! Make sure to stop by and catch up on last week’s post, if you missed it here!  From this point on, once a month, the Times Union blog will be featuring a “Fashion Monday” post by yours truly and I am so excited about the collaboration with this cool cat, Brian Huba!

FullSizeRender (80)

Photo Credits: A. Rickert

Don’t forget to tag me on Instagram: daniellepiel, or on Facebook: Danielle Piel, with some of your inspirational looks. You can also email me at daniellepiel22@gmail.com, or leave a comment below!

X, Danielle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful