The Seven Sparkly Staples

Hello, Everyone! We’ve made it through the week yet again and now it’s time to sit back and enjoy what’s left of one of the last warm weekends of the year! However, before I get started I just wanted to take a moment and thank all of you that have given me such great input about my blog! I truly appreciate all of the feedback I have been receiving over the past two months, and to show my appreciation, today I am posting about a topic that was requested from a dear friend of mine at work; so this one’s for you, Kendra! It’s all about the finest little accessories, today!

Jewelry is always a fun, and creative way to dress up any look, and whether or not you are into all of the latest, funky trends, or just the basics, below is a compilation of “Must Have” staples that I always make sure to keep stored away in my Jewelry Box when assembling my daily outfits, or for a (rare) fun night out.

Let’s start from the top…

1. The Classic Stud:  

This is a must have for any outfit I wear! Even when working out at the gym, this accessory makes me feel I am “put together” even when I am working up a sweat! Any woman can pull it off, from day to night. The ideal would be your normal sized earrings, but if you’re looking to go for a bold statement, why not try a larger one? It not only adds a little appeal to your look, but it actually accentuates your face and gives your complexion a brighter hue.  The two pairs you will always see me in? Diamond studs, which either have an intricate design around them, or just your basic round or Princess Cut, and of course a great pair of pearls!  The trick behind which shade of pearls you should choose is based on your skin tone. If you have a cool skin tone, opt for a natural white, soft pink, or silver. Warmer skin tones may prefer ivory, creamier-based colors, or earth tones, such as brown and gold.

   pearls

2. The Chandelier:

I don’t usually opt for long, dangly earrings. I always find that by the end of the day (typically during cooler seasons, when wearing layers is a must), at least one earring has found a way to intertwine itself within the turtleneck sweater or scarf that I have wrapped around my neck. However, the one reason why I tend to keep a few pairs stored away are for those moments when I decide to switch it up and go necklace-less or if I am wearing a top that doesn’t look right with jewels looped around it; basically, the Chandelier becomes the distracter. That way, what I have on doesn’t seem too bland, because they’ve done the trick of diverting everyone’s eyes away from the neckline, where the necklace would have been, and instead, the attention goes directly towards the face. If you like the idea of a chandelier, but you’re not too sure if you are comfortable enough yet to sport the look, choose a neutral silver or gold to avoid looking too flashy. Not to mention, they look exceptional when coupled with a loose, messy bun, for a fun, bohemian vibe.

Chandelier

3. Making a Statement:

Every lovely, stylish lady needs at least one of these, and if it’s only one, choose a subtle one that can be worn with anything (think neutral colors again).  I love any with a rope chain, an abundance of gemstones, layers upon layers, and lots of vibrant colors. Regardless the style you choose from the endless variety of designs that garnish any clothing or jewelry store, just remember that the main purpose for a statement necklace is to contrast with a plain and/or a solid colored top in need of more attention!

Statement

4. A Strand (or Strands) of Pearls:

I have always idolized the classic beauty, Audrey Hepburn, and considering she is my style-icon, this post wouldn’t be complete without adding this “always-in-style” piece that any lady can pull off and feel classically chic and sophisticated while doing so. Adorn these strands with that LBD, a button-down collared shirt, over a basic tee, or even a sweatshirt (yes, I’ve done this too). Regardless the ensemble chosen for this timeless accessory, it does the trick on its own!

audrey pearls

5. Bangles:

If not for the great sound they make while constantly talking with my hands (what can I say? I’m Italian…), then it’s definitely the overall appeal they have every time I put them on. I love how it doesn’t take much for an accessory such as this to showcase itself to the world!  These bracelets can be a great accent to any piece, either on its own, or my favorite way to wear them-stacking them with other bangles: rope, leather, or beaded bracelets to create the ultimate, stylish look!

bangles

6. The Menswear-Inspired Watch:

Before the I-Phone, watches were what kept most of us punctual, but it hasn’t stopped me from sporting ones that add a little “toughness” to my girly side. Not only does this embellishment suit anyone that wraps one around their wrist, it can be worn with any look. If you enjoy the bulkier style, just make sure to find a face that is slightly bigger than the basic women’s watch, and a strap that is either metallic (my favorite), or leather (for more of a preppy, casual, “All-American” feel).

watch

7.The Cocktail Ring:

Since most left hands are reserved for “invested” pieces, the right hand is usually where I allow myself a little more freedom (well…that is, when my eczema isn’t acting up, and I can actually wear jewelry on my fingers!). A nice, bold piece of bling is fun to wear with just about any outfit, and the bigger, the better! I try to choose ones that have a gold or silver band, and with a black or neutral-toned stone, that way I can mix and match them with anything I wear, while also keeping them within the same color scheme as the rest of the jewels I am displaying!

FullSizeRender (66)

And some advice…

Keep the bright and vibrant hues for the warmer months, or warmer climates. When searching for specific, durable, one-of-a-kind, traditional pieces, shop at Jewelry Stores, Vintage Shops or Antique Stores. If you’re just looking for your basic “Costume Jewels,” any department store, or retailer will do. My Biggest Pet Peeve: Wearing too many statement pieces! This defeats the purpose of wearing them in the first place: to stand out! When choosing your jewels, make sure that if you plan on wearing those “Chandelier” earrings, that you aren’t wearing a necklace that is too flashy as well. You want the eye to focus on one statement piece, and not two (or three). Remember: your look should not be in competition with itself. In the infamous words of Coco Chanel, “Before you leave the house, look in the mirror and remove one accessory.”

I hope that you enjoyed the “Seven Sparkly Statements” that I find to be oh so effortlessly chic! Feel free to tag me on Instagram: @daniellepiel, or on Facebook: Danielle Piel with your favorite Jewels, or you can email me: daniellepiel22@gmail.com, or comment below with any questions or feedback!  Happy accessorizing!

X, Danielle

Photo Credits: Some photos seen were from Google Image

2 comments

  1. Kendra Ferris says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, and for the good advice! I’m still trying to put my look together for the wedding. Thanks for the tips!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

