What I Wore (Week #1)

Happy Sunday, Everyone! I hope that you had a well-rested weekend, not too hot, but not yet cool enough to finally break out the warm winter-wear that will soon be peeking around the corner! If you’re a teacher in upstate, New York (such as myself), this was probably your first week back, and luckily we had a nice, cool weekend to kick back and unwind after record breaking temps that made us feel as if we were ending the school year, and not beginning it!

As most of you know, this week began my #OOTD (Outfit of the Day) posts, and I am here to share with you five looks I wore for my first week back, and one weekend look to run those errands before the Jets ran that football into their first victorious win of the season, earlier today!

Where to shop all looks are also linked below for your convenience!

Monday:

Back in Black! This pleated shift dress (adorned with pockets, of course!) from J. Crew Factory would have cost $108 without any discounts, but the dress was 40% off, plus I had a coupon for an additional 30%, so yes, this gorgeous little black number that works with any frame, cost me roughly around $40!!

Since we were in record breaking temps, I kept the look simple, with a little “Audrey Hepburn” inspiration. Simple black flip-flops from the Lauren Conrad Collection at Kohl’s (because my feet were not going to breathe in flats!), a few accessories (I opted for the pearl/gold geometric-shaped necklace and rose-gold jewels). Normally, I tend to wear pearls for a look like this, but opted out, because I wanted to keep the look light and casual), and to top it off, a side-swept traditional braid to keep my thick mane out of my face!

Even though the dress is sleeveless, during the cooler months I can continue getting great use out of it by adding a button-down shirt, layered underneath, and/or with a cardigan thrown over it. Slide into a pair of tights and pull on a pair of boots, and I’ll have a whole new look!

Shop the dress here: J. Crew Factory

FullSizeRender (62)

Tuesday:

You might have seen this one-piece black and white, striped dress in my “Dressing Room Photo Diary” post, a few weeks back. Not only do I love the look and fit of the dress, but it is extremely comfortable and breathable! I found this for $50 at H&M (now on sale for $35), but through “Retail Me Not” I received an additional 20% off. Grand total=$40.

Since the collar curves around the neck, I avoided wearing any necklaces, and kept the look simple once again (yes, another scorching day with no AC in the school building!). I included the black flip-flops, some arm candy and studded earrings. Braids were a must this week, so once again, side-swept traditional it was!

In order to transition this piece into the cooler months, I may throw a cardigan over it, flats, boots (knee-length or booties), or to “sophisticate” the look, a cute pair of pumps (black, or a bold color)  to make the outfit POP!

Shop the look here: H&M

FullSizeRender (63)

Wednesday:

The students returned, and so did the heat wave! I went for a little “Autumn Inspired” color-scheme to help welcome them back (and to break the monotonous “black” theme that I always lean towards!).

I love the look of the tank. Not only does it have a soft, cottony texture, but the detail around the chest and shoulders adds some intricate detail, not necessarily found on your every day top (especially ones for $9.99!), and the embellished detail throughout the woven-skirt caught my eye immediately (I added a close-up so you could see the bead-like detail within the fabric)!

Again, with an outfit that can be a bit busy (such as this), tend to keep the accessories and hair to a minimum! A few accessories, hair pulled off the neck to show the crochet detailing, and tan, strappy sandals to blend (and elongate my 5’2 stature) helped to keep this look minimal, yet edgy!

Shop the skirt here: H&M $24,99

Shop for a similar top here: H&M $9.99

“Retail Me Not” also had a promotion with H&M for 20% off which was included with my purchase!

Image

Thursday:

This long, black, jersey-styled maxi was purchased on a whim and with complete luck! I found it on the clearance rack earlier this week at H&M for $10! They had one left in black (luckily my size) and a few in grey (so naturally I snatched the black one…).

I paired this “bohemian inspired” dress with a few basic accessories, my black flip-flops and a side-swept fishtail. I wanted to keep this look simple, since there was “so much dress” and each side had a slit so you could actually move a little more freely (the slit came to about knee length, so still very presentable).

Shop a similar look here (halter version): H&M

IMG_5669

T.G.I.Friday (and a casual one!):

I opted for pants, because I was just looking for comfort, so I grabbed my charcoal grey, legging jeans from GAP Factory and the laced ivory tank also purchased from the same store, topped the outfit off with some basic accessories and what has now become an “effortless” fishtail (hey, it was all over the catwalk during NYC Fashion Week this week!), and my black flops for a clean silhouette, and off to work I went!

Shop similar leggings here: GAP ( I was able to purchase these for around $20 a few weeks back)

Shop similar top here: GAP Factory (I was able to get this on sale for $12.99 the day I purchased the leggings, similar top I linked, sells for $9.97)

FullSizeRender (64)

Sunday:

The weather broke a little this weekend, so I tossed on a pair of shorts (and yes, I wore white after Labor Day!) and a simple chambray shirt to keep the look clean and casual. A pair of Lauren Conrad’s “Pineapple” printed flip-flops. minimal accessories, and that traditional braid, tied the look together to spend the morning running around town doing errands in order to make it back before “Kick-Off” (hubby’s orders…!).

Shorts are GAP and were thrifted last year for $3

Shop the Chambray shirt here: J. Crew Factory (This shirt retails for $69.50, but is currently ON SALE for $44.50) I held off for this exact shirt since last year-and thank God I did! I was able to receive it for 30% off with a coupon I had-paying a total of $36 for the softest,and sleekest Chambray button-down I have been able to set my eyes on!

FullSizeRender (65)

So there you have it-“What I Wore”-Week #1! I am looking forward to sharing some more looks with you every week! If you follow me on Instagram (@daniellepiel), I will be posting them almost daily. If not, tag me on Instagram or Facebook (Danielle Piel) with some of your favorite fall looks, or feel free to email me (daniellepiel22@gmail.com) or leave a comment below with any questions or comments you may have!

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend, and here’s to a week of fashionable looks!

X, Danielle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

