Frugal Finds for your Mini Fashionista

Happy Sunday, everyone! As we get closer to fall, I am going to start sharing some of my favorite places to shop, not only because they carry the styles that I hunger for, but more so, they sell them for a price that I crave! Today, I’m sorry to say…is not that day. Instead, I am going to center my attention on a little 2-year-old that gets many compliments on the ensembles that she runs around in: yes, this post is dedicated to my mini fashionista, Alessandra.

For starters, it’s incredibly difficult to shop for a little girl. I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse that the fashion industry targets clothing for them, because there is such an appealing variety to choose from, and it’s hard to resist the urge to splurge when you stumble across any retail store, or boutique, carrying items for these little gems.  Believe me when I say the resistance is difficult, because when you are trying to shop for your 12-year-old son, and you have one of two options: Polo’s or T-Shirts, I thank the fashion gods, for giving me some excitement in shopping for tutus, dresses, and bows for my little girl.

However…you’re probably thinking, sure, it’s fun to shop for little girls, but who wants to just throw money out the window, when you know that a child is going to grow, but their clothes aren’t?! That’s why I am here to share two of my go-to thrift stores (yes, you heard me correctly…I thrift!) where I shop for the majority of my mini fashionista’s wardrobe. Just so we’re clear about my frugality with toddler shopping-each outfit Allie and I put together for this post comes to a total cost of $10 and under!

My first stop was a place that I just so happened to stumble across as I was en route to my local gym one day, and I’m glad I did, because I found the sweetest consignment store called Polkadots Consignment Shop-with two convenient locations (Guilderland, NY and their outlet in Clifton Park, NY), it’s hard to resist not stopping in, taking a look and walking out empty-handed. The owner and her employees are all very kind and extremely helpful, too! Not only do I shop here for Allie, I have, on occasion found lucky treasures for my son, and myself. However, the selection of clothing, accessories, shoes, etc…isn’t all that they have up their sleeves-you have the opportunity to sell your gently used clothing through them, and once they sell, they give you half of the profit (believe me, tried and true!)…

So, let’s take a look at six styles Allie and I have put together for a little fashionable (yet, frugal) inspiration!

First up…

Red, White, and Blue Patched Tank by Crazy 8-$4.50

Navy Blue, Tommy Hilfiger Bloomers-around $2 dollars

Minnie Mouse Ears (a little prop that Allie had to incorporate in her photo shoot-she has some serious separation anxiety from this mouse)-But nonetheless, $10 at Party City around Halloween time (if you’d like to know)

I am fixated on those little bloomers that little girls wear under their dresses and skirts, so I decided that in the warmer months, I would also toss them on under her shirts, to give them that vintage, old school, classic look. I purchased these in just about every color-I have to take advantage of it, considering this is probably the last season I will have the chance to dress her up in them (so sad).

IMG_3831 FullSizeRender (22)

Next on the list…

Navy blue and white striped, buttoned-down, collared Tommy Hilfiger Sundress: $7.00

Navy Blue Tommy Hilfiger Bloomers-Came with the dress!

Red flip-flops with blue printed anchors (these were from Target for only $3, 4th of July weekend)

IMG_1956 IMG_1946

Our third option…

Pink and white gingham printed blouse from Baby Gap– $3.75 from the Clifton Park Outlet

Pink Bloomers (no label)-$2

Pink and white, gingham-printed, clip-on bow (came in a pack of three for under $5 from H&M, about a year back)

…and although I always have my eye out at thrift stores for a great pair of Chuck’s for Allie, I can never find them in her size…(this pink pair was retailed for $30 at Kohl’s, but because I always have a coupon for nothing less than 15%, I paid around $20 for these)

IMG_1973

IMG_1984

As for my next go-to thrift shop: The Salvation Army. The down-side of these stores is that the ones I have stepped foot into are in some serious need of a renovation (which is the number one reason why I avoided them for years). The positive side-if you can get past the lack of up-keep, you can find some true treasures inside. Also, pretty much every day of the week (besides Sunday, when they’re closed), they have additional discounts on the already lowest-marked down prices on second-hand clothing in the area! I have been able to not only find designer clothing for my kids, but even myself (some with tags still attached!)

This frilly-laced, black, yellow and white baby tunic by Nannette cost $1.99

White Baby Gap Bloomers-$1

Black and white striped clip-on bow (came in a pack of three for under $5 from H&M about a year back)

FullSizeRender (15)      FullSizeRender (16)

Our second Salvation Army find…

Blue and white-collared vintage toddler dress by Little Bit (I could not find anything about this label, so it must truly be a vintage piece)-I said earlier that I love vintage clothing, and dressing up my daughter to look like she just stepped out of a DIck and Jane book, is one of my favorite styles for her while she is still young. I found this dress over the weekend on sale for 1/2 off: total cost=$.99!

The white, patent leather Mary Jane’s are Stride Rite shoes, and were a gift last year

FullSizeRender (19)      FullSizeRender (20)

and the best for last…

The bilowy, flower top from H&M was $1.99, when I purchased it this weekend

White Baby Gap Bloomers-Again, around $2

Flower headband was a purchase from Kohl’s a few weeks back and was on sale for $4.99 (there’s actually a plastic Minnie Mouse face that can be seen in picture #2-like I said…she loves her Minnie about as much as I love mine!)

But the shoes…these golden, leather slippers are by far my favorite finds for Allie! I truly wish they had them in my size, and this fall I plan on buying them again in different colors. I actually first took note of these shoes on an episode of (please don’t judge me…) KUWTK, when Kourtney’s oldest child, Mason was spotted wearing these in black. I quickly searched for them, and found some great Etsy shops that sell them. Unfortunately, I cannot remember which one I purchased them from, but after doing my research I ended up buying hand-made ones for around $22 dollars from a woman in North Carolina (most range from $20-50 dollars).

IMG_2040   IMG_2027

So there you have it! I hope you found a little inspiration when playing around with your favorite little girl’s wardrobe, or a closer look at certain quality items to shop for, without feeling guilty! So get out there, and explore your local consignment/thrift shops; you’ll be amazed at what you will uncover with just a little rummaging!

Don’t forget to tag me in any of your finds on Instagram (@daniellepiel), Facebook (Danielle Piel), or feel free to leave me a comment below!

Until later this week…

X, Danielle

6 comments

  1. Nicole Usher says:

    I agree!! Love consignment shops for little ones clothes. Cuddlebugs Consignment in Saratoga Springs is dedicated to children’s clothing and maternity wear. Check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stacie says:

    Thanks for doing the work for the mama’s of little mini me’s! Allie is ADORABLE & a great model 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bianca says:

    Those shoes in the last picture are so adorable! I want them for myself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Life in Pearls and Sports Bras

style · health · do it yourself

STYLESIRCUIT

Relentlessly real

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

elblogdeeli

There are so many reasons to be happy

Pattern$ oF R@nD0mNEsS

However random it might seem, everything in this world has a pattern

Kate Escapes The Ordinary

Escaping ordinary life and living a new adventure each day

romanticshayri.wordpress.com/

Keep your secrets to yourself !! if you can’t – So never expect the other one to do so.--All Copy Right are Reserved.

Helen of Troy Fashion

a personal style blog, DIY fashion and more

mommyteacherfashionista

Making Everyday Life More Stylish, Colorful, and Delightful

